The Philadelphia Half Marathon

Last weekend I met up with my bestest friend from college, A.Jay, in her new hometown for a little run.  Aje and I had initially signed up for the full marathon, but we both dropped down to the half as training went on.  It was my first time in Philadelphia, and Aje sure made sure I fell in love with it! 

Our weekend together included tons of shopping at our favorite stores: West Elm, J.Crew, Anthropologie, and the local farmer’s market.  I even tried on some super awesome PJ’s at J.Crew!

IMG_2870 And lots of awesome food!  My favorite place we went to was Pure Fare, which is a cafe that was started by a nutritionist.  The entire place is gluten free, and it has tons of vegetarian, vegan, and allergy friendly food.  But mostly the whole place is crazy delicious and nutritious.  I fell in love with the Quinoa cranberry muffin and the Kale-Apple smoothie!!

IMG_2888 IMG_2884The race was AMAZING… It was super well organized, especially for a big race: 30,000 people!  The expo was big and overwhelming as expected.  We picked up our packets, bought some matching sweaty bands (pictured above), and got out of there!  The start was less than a mile from A.Jay’s apartment, so we enjoyed a nice walk to the start while we drank our coffee.  We decided to wear matching race outfits AND matching pre-race outfits!  

IMG_2875

The porta-potty lines were long, but they were just the right length because they gave me time to do my pre-race potty dance.

IMG_2873If you’ve ever run a race with me before, you know this is an important part of the process!

The race was well-supported with lots of bathrooms, water, gatorade, and Cliff Shots (eww).  I brought sharkies!  It was chilly, but the temperature ended up feeling great during the race.  What really made this a great race was the AMAZING crowd support.  MILES of this course were lined with people.  Lots and lots of people.  I have never experienced that much enthusiasm at a race.  It made me realize how much I really want to do one of the famous races… mostly I really want to do NYC, which is famous for the crazy crowd support all along the course.

IMG_2878

  IMG_2882

We had lots of fun!  And we finished in a great time!! I really couldn’t have done this without Aje.  I was really hurting, but she was FULL of energy and speed.  At mile 11, she asked me if I wanted to pick it up for the last stretch.  I was like, “I am picking it up!!!”  I am so glad I held on. 

philadelphia results

This was also the first time I’ve raced in my Vibram Five Fingers.  It went great!  My toes were a little chilly, but not too bad.  I thought about my form quite a bit because I still struggle with heel striking when I get tired, and that really hurts when you aren’t wearing shoes!

IMG_2886 This was my last distance race before my jaw surgery, so I was happy to end the year with a strong half.  Here’s to a healthy resting period, so my leg can repair itself!!  Thanks for a super fun weekend, Aje… and thanks for being my photographer!!

One Comment on “The Philadelphia Half Marathon”

  1. Alex Liverman says:

    Wow! I love how you packed so much fun stuff and non-race stuff into the trip. Love to hear how your body is doing after your first long race with the barefoot shoes… Cool on you! See you in PDX soon. Sending good jaw vibes!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers