But baby it’s cold outside!

Last winter, I ran through the cold weather because I was training for the Toronto marathon.  Each long run was a new challenge.  How to dress warm enough, but not too warm when the wind chill is zero degrees.  It is always hard to believe you really will get warm during the run.  The big difference for me last year was that I was training with Julia, so every weekend we had a date that I looked forward to.  This year, I am training by myself for the Eugene marathon.  And it’s still really really cold!

2013-01-26_16-51-08_713

How in the world do people here stay motivated to run all year?  The real answer I’ve discovered is that they don’t.  The number of runners goes down A TON in the winter.  Honestly, they are stronger braver runners than me, because there is no way, I mean NOOOOO WAY, I am taking my running to the dreadmill.  F that.

2013-01-26_16-54-21_663

So I head outside… even when the Charles River is frozen!  Obviously, it is super gorgeous!  But that just doesn’t do it for me when I am warm and cozy inside.  It is such a struggle to decide it’s a good idea.  Probably because it really isn’t!  The other night, my face mask froze to my face.  WTF  I’ve even had to wear my Nike Frees instead of my glorious five fingers, so I could run on the snow.

2013-01-26_16-54-27_139

So, obviously I have made it out the door in the freezing cold.  Just not as much as I’d like to.  So here are the things that motivate me to get out there…

1. A training plan.  You can’t beat it.  I’m following Hal Higdon’s Intermediate I marathon plan.  I haven’t always gotten all my weekday runs in, but I always get my two weekend runs in because I know it’s the bread and butter of his theory.

2013-01-26_16-59-16_452

2. A good running playlist.  My mom came up with the coolest idea.  Since we are both on the same training plan, and we have the same long run each weekend, we trade off making a Spotify playlist for both of us to listen to.  Sometimes, I am just so excited to get out there so I can see what she made for me.  It’s also fun to listen to the one I made and imagine her reaction to each song.

2013-01-26_17-11-32_932

3. Preparation.  I know this might not work for everyone.  If I spend the whole week looking at the weather report, planning my route, and deciding which weather accessories will be right for each run, I get pretty into the idea.  This only really works for long weekend runs though.  I don’t really need to plan out my route for the 4-mile midweek run…

2013-01-27_14-30-45_429

4. Leave work early!  This is just awesome in general.  But… since it’s busy season, I work pretty long hours, and it’s hard to get in the midweek long-ish run.  Right now it’s 7 miles.  Since I am definitely not waking up an hour and a half early before work, and I am definitely not running at midnight, I’ve asked my team permission to leave early one night a week.  Now don’t get too excited!  Early just means 5pm instead of 7pm.  But I’ll tell you what… I NEVER skip that run.  I would feel like I was lying to my team and cheating.

2013-01-27_14-37-03_23

Unfortunately, Nemo left me a little more than I’m comfortable with right now, so I am waiting a few more hours…

IMG_0001

IMG_0006

Stay warm out there!

2 Comments on “But baby it’s cold outside!”

  1. Em says:

    You are seriously my hero Kate! I now have no reason to complain about the rain and being cold…. you win and you inspire me. Cant wait to run Eugene with you and yo mama!

    • Well… writing that post was my motivation to go running two days after the blizzard. I went out in my five fingers for 13 miles and came back with raw spots all over my feet. Not sure it was the smartest thing I’ve ever done. Can’t wait to see you!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers