Lessons to be learned

Today I ran 12 miles, which I was supposed to do yesterday, but eew running the day after a long catering event!  I had a weird run filled with many lessons about how not to plan your long-ish run…

1. You don’t drink real coffee.  Don’t drink real coffee right before your run!  The coffee did solve my usual bathroom issues, so I am very grateful, but some weak Starbucks latte would have done that too.  About 2 miles into my run I stopped because my legs felt like jello AND I thought I was having an anxiety attack.  It was so weird, and I was kinda freaking out.  I stopped and looked down to see my whole body shaking.  That was when I started to curse my decision to go to Local 123 for a super strong mocha with Aje. 

2.  You ate breakfast in the morning.  Just because you haven’t done anything but read blogs since then does not mean it isn’t lunch time before the run.  Eating lunch probably would have helped with the caffeine overload, too.  I just didn’t even realize it was so late (1pm) when I headed out the door.  Well, let me tell you… I for sure realized it at mile 8 when my stomach was calling.

3. Holidays suck for getting things done, and I am a cranky girl after a 12 mile run.  I went to get the lunch I had been thinking about since mile 8, but no, SF soup company was CLOSED!  I quickly redirected for Chipotle and got a burrito bowl to inhale while I sat outside in the sun… bliss.  I left soon though because I needed to get to the pharmacy.  FAIL! WTF… why do they need to close all day?  Then I went to TJ’s which was not closed so everyone and their mom was there… Fail #2 because I hate crowded TJ’s.  There were no mini carts left when I got there, so I grabbed a basket, but then I wanted to just sit on the ground in the aisle.  I NEEDED a cart to lean on.  So I waited for a cart. LOLOL… then walked through the aisles five times each to decide what to buy.  On my way out I slowly dropped/chucked my paper towels at somebody and then slowly went to pick them up.  Lesson learned: I need a nap.  I am not in marathon shape.  12 mile runs eat me for dinner.

As you might imagine, I am now going to take a nap!  Happy Memorial Day!

Leave a Reply

