Chickpea pasta sauce

There are two ways to stand in line at the grocery store:

1. Let your anxiety and impatience build up as you scrutinize every move that the customer or cashier make.  “What the… who pays with checks anymore?!”

OR

2. Realize that you have nothing to do with the things going on in front of you.  You have just been gifted 2-5 minutes of relaxation.  Set your basket down and chill out.

An hour before dinner time this evening I realized I didn’t have any of the ingredients I needed to make dinner, so I rushed over to Trader Joe’s.  I was feeling a little frantic on my way to the store, but I made the conscious decision to take a chill pill when I got to the store.  I felt my irritation building when I saw 4 people in the express line at checkout, but I reminded myself that I would prefer to have a #2 experience, rather than a #1 (mega Bee-otch) experience.  And look how I was rewarded…

DSCN0071

I LOVE Peonies.  They were right next to me, so I just stared at them until it was my turn to swipe my credit  card.

Down to business…

BEST pasta sauce ever.  Make this tomorrow.  Not tonight.  I don’t want to stress anyone out!

I got the recipe from Smitten Kitchen, but I have changed it a little bit, too.

Chickpea Sauce!

Makes enough for Hungry Hungry Brendan and Kaetlin… or 3 normal people.

Ingredients:

olive oil

1 medium onion sliced

3 cloves garlic coarsely chopped

4 oz. turkey bacon diced (I use Trader Joe’s peppered)

Dried or fresh basil

1 14oz. can diced tomatoes

1 15oz. can garbanzo beans

1/2 cup chicken broth

Directions:

Begin by sautéing the onions and garlic in olive oil (2 turns of the pan… lol do I sound like Rachael Ray!?) over medium-high heat.  When they start to get soft, add the diced turkey bacon and a good 7-10 shakes of the dried basil (or add your fresh basil).  Also add salt to taste ( don’t actually taste it).  Give these ingredients some time to cook together until the onions are gorgeously translucent and your house smells like Italy, or until your eyes stop burning from the onions.

DSCN0072

Continue to watch and stir unless the only “me time” you get during the day is while your significant other does the dishes.  In that case, let them stick to the bottom and burn a little.  It will still taste fine.

Then add the diced tomatoes.  You can also put 1/2 cup of the garbanzo beans into the pot, but pour the rest of the can into the food processor.

DSCN0075

I add a good amount of the sauce in there, too, because Brendan doesn’t like chunky tomatoes, but it is fine either way.  Add the chicken broth in there with the garbanzos, blend it to a nice chunky puree, and then add it back into the sauce.

DSCN0078

Let it simmer for 20 to 30 minutes uncovered for best results, but it will be just fine if you are too hungry to wait that long.

We had this with quinoa linguine and an arugula strawberry summer salad, but this sauce is also excellent served with eggs, by itself, or with bread…

DSCN0087

My pictures are kind of blurry, but you get the idea.  I’m not a food blogger, remember!!

2 Comments on “Chickpea pasta sauce”

  1. Sarah says:

    I love peonies! They always smell so delicious!


Leave a Reply

