Happy Day: Smart running decisions and Yogurtland!

What a great day!  I’m just so excited because Yogurtland finally got a new flavor that ROCKS my world. 

DSCN0131

This flavor seriously is amazing.  I find that frozen yogurt often tastes like something when you first try it, but then tastes like indistinguishable “frozen yogurt flavor” once you’ve been eating it.  This flavor consistently delivered full caramel, almond and chocolate flavors in every bite.  It was also SUPER salty, which I HEART!  Plus, it says that it is a good source of protein from the almonds…. lol, right. 

DSCN0132

I got a bowl of the new flavor with caramel sauce and chocolate sprinkles on top.  OMG!  Brendan also got the new flavor, but with 2 cookies worth of cookie dough on top! 

Enough fuel analysis.  Onto your daily dose…

As you may or may not know, I was scheduled to run 20 miles yesterday.  I was all set with a big new bottle of lemon-lime G2 and a baggie of the green and yellow mike n’ ikes.  Brendan was displeased to see that there were only red and orange left in the box.  Sorry… oopsies. 

My run started out fine.  I was tight, but I felt pretty calm and comfortable with the idea of the 4 hours to come.  I ended up stopping at 3 different bathrooms because I was so afraid that I would have to go poop when I wasn’t near a bathroom.  I never went… fyi, tmi (sorry, Brendan).  Anyways…

I was definitely feeling the pain down my left leg in my IT band, my hamstring, and my sciatic nerve tingle.  It was definitely something I could run through, but I started thinking about the chapter I read last night in my book which talks about the importance of not running through an injury if it changes your gait.  Well, I was definitely limping…

Then I started thinking about my experience with this same injury 2 years ago at the Disney Marathon.  When I think about my “running career” I feel like I have only really finished one real marathon for the books because my Disney marathon was SO AWFUL.  I pretty much carried my left leg through training and through the race, and it was significantly less enjoyable than my Eugene marathon  training and experience.  I don’t want to just finish the race in July (SF).  I want to enjoy it.  I don’t want to hate training this summer, and I don’t want to make my injury worse. 

So… I headed back for home, finishing only 12 of the 20 I set out to do, but feeling like I had made a really healthy decision for me.  I have officially decided to only run the first half of the SF Marathon because it is the right thing for my body right now! 

2 Comments on “Happy Day: Smart running decisions and Yogurtland!”

  1. Cate says:

    It sounds like you made the right decision, and it’s definitely better not to risk injuring yourself more!


Leave a Reply

