About that running thing…

Aren’t you glad you read my running blog, so I can tell you all about my cross country move, my CPA study habits and my favorite foods!?  hmmm… something is missing.

Yes, friends, I have been running… a little.  My hamstring/sciatica/IT band/thing on my left leg under my butt that hurts like a bbbbeeeeepppp… yeah, that injury I have hurts super bad lately.  Today I worked at a catering event, and it was SCREAMING at me.  It hurts super bad when I walk, run, yoga (that’s a verb) and sit or sleep.  Hmmmm… MAKE IT GO AWAY!!!

I decided not to train for and run the SF full marathon a few weeks ago because I was in a lot of pain, but I don’t think lowering my mileage has really helped at all.  The answer, I’m assuming, will be to take some real time off to recover from this injury.  I will probably need to get some PT eventually since this is a recurring problem that pops up when my mileage increases. 

So what does a girl do with a mega pain in the butt when she is all set and ready to run a half marathon in a few weeks and an AMAZINGLY fun relay in a little over a month (Hood to Coast)?  Here is what I think… I am going to keep running low mileage: think 3-6 mile runs 4 times a week-ish.  I am NOT going to go to yoga for a while because I think it was really aggravating the injury.  Crazy how something that works so well for me at preventing pain can be so awful once I am already hurting!  I am going to spend more time weight training and elliptical-ing and spinning when I am able to get into a gym. 

Whadaya think?  I know it isn’t the BEST plan because it would be better if I stopped running and healed now.  Well… SORRY!  If you are really mad that I’m not doing it, don’t read anymore.  If you kind of understand where I’m coming from, we can be bffs!   

2 Comments on “About that running thing…”

  1. Marni says:

    We are already BFF s. And I can live with your plan as long as I don’t have to run your legs at H2C.

    • You won’t have to run my legs. I will just complain the whole time… jk. I will just need copious(my new fav word, obv) amounts of ice between legs(not between my body parts, get it). BFFs for ever, mom!


Leave a Reply

