I survived!

It didn’t feel good and I didn’t like it one bit, but I made it out of the exam room in one piece after my first section of the CPA exam.  It was 4 stinking hours of non-stop picking at my brain in a freezing air-conditioned room with signs everywhere that warned me against putting my feet on my comfy chair.  grrr… anybody who has ever sat down anywhere with me knows that I put my legs up everywhere.  oops… it happened a few times during the test!  sorry…

I was a nervous disaster before the exam and my stomach was literally spinning in circles the whole hour before the exam.  Luckily, I had secured awesome friend plans for after the exam, so that I wouldn’t be alone and anxious after.  Brendan and A.Jay were right down the street waiting for me when I got done, and we headed to Roy’s for dinner!  Brendan treated me to a cocktail, appetizers, and two seared Ahi dishes.  Yumm… and of course, Roy’s famous chocolate soufflé!

image

It was so fun and I was really so grateful that they were both there for me!

A.Jay and I decided last night that we would go running this morning at 8:30.  That, my friends, is very early for me, but I had no problem at all waking up because I knew Aje was coming, too.  It was crazy.  I can’t believe how powerful that commitment to her was for my body!

DSCN0243

We ran 5 miles on a trail that runs through Berkeley.  We ended the run with iced coffees from Starbucks, of course!

I’m feeling a little better about the exam now that I’ve distanced myself a bit, but I still catch myself trying to solve some problem in my head even though I don’t remember the whole fact pattern.  That makes it pretty stressful.  I won’t get my score until the end of September, so I really need to just let it go and commit myself to my next section, which I will be taking at the end of August!  I’m actually pretty excited to start with a new book, new topic, etc. because I have learned a lot with the last exam about how to study with the Becker materials.

Now I’m headed to Oregon tonight to pick up the car that I’ll be driving to Boston.  We are going to drive it back to the bay this weekend in time for the SF Half Marathon.  Lots of fun coming up this weekend!!

One Comment on “I survived!”

  1. Brendan says:

    Typo in the first sentance of the last paragraph. Aren’t you glad I commented?!


Leave a Reply

