Berkeley to Boston: Day 7 (Mall of America)

Day 7 (August 21, 2011): Sioux Falls, SD to Minneapolis, MN

Let’s see… what else can I say about Sioux Falls, South Dakota? 

DSCN0591

1) They have really bad food in the middle of this country.  All of the billboards say we are in Beef country, but they seriously ruin all pieces of meat by cooking them way too much.  I got a little excited when we went to a restaurant for a buffalo burger, but I was let down again.  Plus, the salad bar turned out to have a bowl of iceberg lettuce, a bowl of canned veggies (what?), and all of the other bowls were some variation of macaroni or potato salad.  OMG!  I feel so gross.

2) We weren’t really sure what to do once we were done with Mount Rushmore and the Badlands.  There were a lot of farms?

3) I’ll give it a little break because I was super sick, sneezing all day, so I’m not sure I would have enjoyed myself anywhere. 

What did we end up doing?  We got to our hotel late-ish at night, went to bed, got up, did some laundry, and drove the heck away.  We almost decided to just turn around and go home at that point, but it is shorter to just keep on going East…

This leg of our trip took us to Minneapolis.  I have honestly wanted to go here since I was a kid because Mary-Kate and Ashley did a lot of events at Mall of America, and the American Girl Store is here!!

imageimage

Better late than never!?

DSCN0592

I’ll admit I felt a little out of place and out of touch.  They have definitely added a few more dolls since the last time I was collecting.  It was still pretty exciting because it really is the ultimate place for a girl to go doll shopping.  They have a hair salon where you can get your dolls hair done, and they have a full café/restaurant where your doll gets a doll-size high chair!!

Plus, they have all the awesome books for girls, which I really am a fan of.  Their books are really great for young girls because they are really honest about a lot of things that girls don’t like to talk about, but need to hear about: health, body image, puberty, safety, boys, how to wash between your toes, etc. 

imageimageimage

imageimageimage

The store really reminded me how passionate I am about education for girls and programs like girls on the run. 

The mall had a ton of our favorite stores, but it also had the kid version of all of the stores like Crew Cuts by J. Crew (so cute!!) and 77 Kids by American Eagle.

I wouldn’t really recommend going out of your way to visit the Mall of America, but it would be a GREAT PLACE to take kids shopping.  Plus, they have a whole theme park by Nickelodeon in there!

So… a road trip post just turned into a post about everything I loved about being a little girl. Awesome!

Leave a Reply

