Running is so simple

Running doesn’t need to be complicated.  I love reading about running, talking about running, writing about running… and running!  But sometimes getting so involved with the details of running makes me go a little coo coo for running strategies, tips, and extra accessories.  Here are a few things that I find helpful sometimes…

1. Compression socks.  I love my compression socks because they are a super awesome excuse for wearing warm big socks when Brendan says I look like a tool.  Sorry, I have to wear these right now!  They also make me feel like I am doing the right thing for my body after a hard long run.

2. Garmin 305…(aka Mr. Garmie)  I have a love/hate relationship with my Garmin.  Sometimes I love that I can monitor my progress or make sure that my runs pace is on track for an easy or quick run.  Sometimes I hate that I can’t get my legs to go any faster, and Garmie doesn’t lie to me.  I love that I feel like I can go for a run with or without my Garmin depending on what I want to get out of a run.  I’ll be using the Garmin for a while here in Cambridge so that I can get comfortable with various routes. 

3. Snacks.  I think Gus and chews are part physical part mental.  I’m not sure I really need them if I am also drinking a sugary electrolyte drink, but they are like the compression socks because they make me feel like I am following all of the right steps for a healthy training plan.

4. Shoes and clothes for every occasion.  When I ran cross country in high school I was fitted at Portland Running Company with Brooks.  I loved my Brooks because they were real running shoes… not for kids, not for play, not for blonde women with curled hair at the gym.  And for a while I thought that anyone wearing bright Nike shoes or old shoes couldn’t possibly be a real runner.  I feel really differently now.  Who cares?  I don’t have any pain wearing my Nike Lunarglides… they work for me.  To be honest, Nike has invested a lot in running shoe development in the past few years, so they really are better shoes than they used to be. 

This all leads me back to my thoughts today as I headed out the door for my first run in Cambridge.  I had spent quite a while looking up good routes on mapmyrun.com, I had my Garmin fully charged, I was wearing my favorite Lululemon top and Nike shorts, I had a running rain jacket, and I was wearing a non-favorite pair or running shoes in preparation for the rainy run.  I had thought out so many details for a simple 3 mile run.  Necessary? No.  Useful? I don’t know!!!  I know I’m glad I changed my shoes because lots of rain really does stretch out running shoes and make them less awesome, but the other stuff?  Would it have been so bad wearing a plain cotton t-shirt? 

I am so glad that all of these details reminded me that running doesn’t have to be complicated.  I am so glad that I was able to get over that.  I went out for a run, put my hood on, and listened to the simple noises of a good run: my feet splashing through the puddles, the rain drops on my hood, and the sweet steady rhythm of my calm breath.  I explored about 3.6 miles of Cambridge.  More than 3, not quite 4… precision doesn’t really matter, does it?  I just stopped when I got back home.

Leave a Reply

