Exploring Boston

Brendan and I set out this afternoon to tour the Back Bay in Boston, since that is where my office is, and I wanted to know how to get there on the T(subway).  I loved the Back Bay so much when I visited for interviews; it probably had a lot to do with why I chose the firm I chose. 

Our trip started out at… the Finish!! Yep, that’s the finish line of the Boston Marathon… drool. 

DSCN0731

You have to risk your life for a pic with the finish line.  I ran out there while the light was red, and Brendan took a quick picture of me!

There is only one thing that Brendan and I like as much as new ice cream shops…new CANDY shops

DSCN0732

Brendan was VERY excited about these peachy penguin gummies.  They were just OK.

We walked through the gorgeous brick buildings on Newbury Street, along the Charles River, and over to the Boston Common.

DSCN0733DSCN0735

I just realized that we meant to do the Freedom Trail today, but we forgot… another day.

It was such a beautiful day, and there were literally TONS of runners all along the river.  It was more crowded than some races I’ve been in!  Not kidding.   Needless to say, I was pretty excited to go running when we got home.  I have runner’s envy real bad.  I thought I knew where I was going, but then I wasn’t sure about my loop route plan, so I ended up doing an out-and-back 7 miler.  It was SO beautiful out.  There was a crazy cloud formation and a beautiful sunset over the city.  Sorry, but I took my water bottle instead of my camera.  You’ll just have to come visit me! 

Dinner tonight was turkey chili from the “Cooking with all things Trader Joe’s” cookbook.  It’s super simple and healthy, making it one of my go-to dinners. 

Turkey Chili – serves 4

DSCN0736

Ingredients

  • 1 Tbs. olive oil
  • 1 yellow onion (coarsely chopped)
  • 1 lb. ground turkey (we use white meat)
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/2 can refried beans
  • 1 28oz. can diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup TJ’s Chipotle salsa (or your fav salsa)
  • 2 Tbs. BBQ sauce
  • 1 can black beans (drained and rinsed)
  • Toppings: cheese, nonfat greek yogurt or sour cream, avocado

Directions

  • Sauté the onion with the olive oil for a few minutes over medium heat
  • Add the ground turkey and break it up as it cooks
  • Once the turkey is cooked through, add the cumin.  Stir
  • Add the refried beans.  Smash them so that they mix with the other ingredients.
  • Add all other ingredients through black beans (not the toppings!)
  • Stir!
  • Bring to a boil and then simmer for 10 minutes.
  • Enjoy with toppings of your choice, cornbread, chips, sourdough bread?  Yum.
Leave a Reply

