A working woman!

Today is my first day of work!  I still feel like I am just starting another round of school; I even caught myself calling it my freshman year!! Call it whatever you want, but I sure hope it pays better than the other schools I’ve gone to!  I’ll be sure to let you know how it goes.

Last night we had another go-to weeknight favorite of ours: peanut sauce noodles.

I don’t really have a recipe for you because we make it differently every time, but I can give some good pointers…

DSCN0739

The sauce that I use is just natural peanut butter, Trader Joe’s teriyaki sauce, and some water in the ratio of 2:2:1.  For example, I would use 1/3 cup PB, 1/3 cup teriyaki sauce, and 1/6 cup water (eyeball it).  I originally got a recipe for the sauce from my All things Trader Joe’s cookbook, and it calls for some oil in the sauce, as well.

All you need for the dish is some spaghetti (we use whole wheat) and your favorite veggies and protein.  Last night, we used broccoli slaw (from Trader Joe’s), a yellow bell pepper, a tomato, and some chicken breast meat.  Broccoli slaw is better when it is blanched, but it is SO much easier to just put it in the strainer before you strain your noodles.  Just pour the boiling pot of noodles over the broccoli slaw and let sit for a minute or so.  Then toss with your other veggies, meat, and peanut sauce.  It is great warm or cold.  And it is SUPER good the next day.  Brendan already has it packed up for lunch tomorrow!

Let me know what you think if you try it! OR if you have a similar recipe, I’d love to hear about it!

2 Comments on “A working woman!”

  1. Emily says:

    How was your first day? And cant wait to try your peanut dish, it sounds…interesting…


Leave a Reply

