“Adjusting to real life”

I emailed the manager on my upcoming client engagement this week to find out what I could do to get ready for my client work, which starts next week.  He answered my questions with brief responses, thanked me for reaching out to him, and ended by saying, “I hope the transition to real life has been going well.”  I laughed a little, but it was more of a courtesy laugh (Note to self: you don’t need to do that when you read emails), as I sat and wondered what he meant. 

Is this what the rest of my entire life is going to be like?  Probably not. 

Was my life real before now?  I’m not positive, but I’m pretty sure.  

Does this suck?  I don’t think so.  Not yet. 

But my life has changed a lot A LOT in just the past few weeks, and I ‘m pretty sure it hasn’t stopped changing.  One really dramatic change for me is the way I approach exercise.  During the last six months, I often woke up to find that the only thing I had on my to-do list was a tentative workout… an if-you-want-to sort of run or yoga plan.  I almost always got around to it… lol. 

The biggest recent change has been the extraordinary pride I feel each time I lace up my running shoes.  It’s a really amazing feeling: “I did this for me.  I planned this.  I beat the odds.  I am capable of fitting this into my schedule.”  I know I’ve grown up watching my super busy mom fit her marathon training into her schedule, but it really is harder than it looks.  Well… it’s not harder… you just have to decide that it’s important to you.  Here are the things I’ve done so far to make healthy eating and exercise fit into my work schedule:

1. I cook a pot of 3 servings of oatmeal on Sunday night for the next three days.  While it’s cooking in the pot, I prepare three tupperware containers with brown sugar and PB.  I leave the oatmeal to cool on the stove and then seal up each serving with its toppings.  Ready for the next three days!  Repeat on Wednesday night for the next 2 days. 

2.  I knew I was going to be working out of the office for the next 2 weeks, so I bought a 2 week membership at the yoga studio right by my work.  They had a new student special for 2 weeks for $25!  On the days I plan to go to yoga, I simply pack a bag with some gym clothes the night before, and tote it to work with me on the subway.

3.  I’ve tried to mix up my workouts, so that the idea of it doesn’t sound like a total drag.  Having the yoga studio membership has been good because I look forward to the new kind of class each time, and I can alternate running days with yoga days. 

4.  Set a bed time.  I’m still working on this one.  It is Thursday, and I have red lines in my eyes that I only get when I’m really tired.  They appeared this morning.  I almost made it to the weekend, but not quite. 

5.  I know you’ve heard this one before, but tell people about your plans to work out each evening.  After my first yoga class I had three people ask me about it the next day, which also made me excited to go back. Plus, verbalizing your commitment is even better than writing it in your personal calendar.

What are your tips for saving time and making healthy decisions during the hectic work week? 

I have a quick awesome EASY healthy dinner to post soon!  

2 Comments on ““Adjusting to real life””

  1. Marni says:

    I make my kids go with me and make them believe that it is normal behavior. That’s my secret.


Leave a Reply

