A great day for racing!

I rallied up some friends from work and convinced them to sign up for a 10k with me!  Yay.  I haven’t run a 10k since high school just because I’ve focused on racing longer distances, so it was fun to change it up.  Plus, I haven’t really run more than 3.5 miles since I moved, so I can’t even pretend like I could have run any further.  In fact, I kind of died during the 10k.

My favorite things about the 10k? 

Friends!  It was so fun to go with a group of friends, and it was my friend’s first race and first time running more than 5 miles, so it was really fun to be part of that.

296009_10100203757095959_1821944_48411788_1121348128_n

The Price  It is SOOO much cheaper to register for a smaller local race.  I just looked up the price for the Las Vegas Rock n’ Roll Half and I wanted to cry.  Not sure if I’ll give in. 

My not so favorite things?

The pace… it’s a nice challenge to try to pick up the pace, knowing that it will be a lot shorter than my other races, but it is really hard for me to run any faster, just because my muscle memory is so set on my distance pace.  I would definitely have to add in some speed training if I wanted to make this my thing.  I ran an 8:08 first mile and then I DIED.305279_10100456965314650_931615_56193464_1636595650_n

I wore my Nike Women’s Marathon shirt so I could cheer on A.Jay who was running her first FULL in SF today!  OMG OMG!  I wish I could be there for her… Plus, my mom and our crew of friends ran the Girlfriend’s Half Marathon in Vancouver, WA today.  That was my first half EVER about four years ago!  I was definitely sad to not be at either of those races today because I love female-focused races, but I don’t really think I could have gone the distance.  Plus, it was fun to try a new distance in a new place with new friends! 

Leave a Reply

