Day 6 – New Orleans, LA to Conroe, TX

We spent the early afternoon at the WWII Museum.  It was a pretty cool time to be there because it was the 70th anniversary of the D-Day invasion, so there were a bunch of veterans there sharing their experiences and talking with visitors.

IMG_0307

We tried to play the part in WWII propaganda.  What do you think?  Who wore it better? Rosie or me?

IMG_0312 IMG_0309 IMG_0311 IMG_0310

I generally don’t really enjoy museums very much, but I liked this museum a lot.  I think I liked how focused it was, so I felt like I was fully immersed in the material for a this specific period.  I prefer that over random items of interest from various countries/periods/artists.

On the way out of New Orleans, we got lunch at the French Market.  Lunch included fried green tomatoes, a shrimp po’ boy, and crab cakes.  As unique and interesting as the food was in New Orleans, I was pretty over the greasiness when we left.

We spent a good portion of the day driving to Conroe, which is near Houston, TX.  We went there to stay with and visit my grandparents.  Unfortunately, the road there looked a bit like this…

IMG_0314There was a crazy steep bridge, and an 18-wheeler broke down on the bridge!! So we spent a good amount of time in a complete standstill.  These are the risks you take when your timeline depends on traffic!  Luckily, we still got to have dinner wit the fam!  It is hot and humid in these parts.  I told Brendan we should have brought scuba gear.

I also saw this gem of a childhood memory when we were getting into Conroe.  The Schwan man was a regular visitor in my childhood – corndogs, pizza, peach ice cream, push pops… We managed to get a pretty good shot of the Texas sunset with the Schwan truck, too!

IMG_0315

Leave a Reply

