Day 10 – Scottsdale, AZ to Las Vegas, NV via the Grand Canyon

I went for a morning trail walk with my dad on the desert trails behind his house to start off the day.  It was so cool to have so many great trails right outside the back door.  But it was SO HOT.  Then we went out to breakfast with my dad before heading back out on the road.  Each stop on this trip has been so short, but it has really given us a taste of each of the places we would love to visit more now that we are back West. 

It had been quite a few days since my last Chick-fil-a diet lemonade, which I fell in love with in the Southeast.  Luckily, we found one in Flagstaff, AZ! 

IMG_0359

We continued to the Grand Canyon!  It was my first time ever!  We had  lot of fun taking pictures that made us look super extreme!IMG_0360 IMG_0361

IMG_0364 IMG_0365

IMG_0366

 IMG_0368 We almost got divorced when Brendan decided to go out to this rock…

IMG_0369

But then he came back…IMG_0374

IMG_0375IMG_0376

IMG_0377

IMG_0381

IMG_0384 IMG_0386 So there you have more pictures than you ever wanted to see of us at the Grand Canyon!

Next we made a few new friends on the way out of the park…

IMG_0387

IMG_0388

On the way to Vegas, we stopped at the Hoover Dam.  Brendan had never seen it before, and I hadn’t been since I was 7 or 8. 

IMG_0390

Check out the water line!  Crazy!

IMG_0392 IMG_0393Next we enjoyed an evening drive through the desert to Vegas.  I absolutely love the desert sunset.  The sky and the geography here remind me so intensely of my childhood in Reno. IMG_0394

We had dinner and went for a short walk on the strip in Vegas.  I finally got to meet my favorite movie stars of all time!IMG_0398

Also Vegas…IMG_0399

Only in Vegas…IMG_0400

And then we went to sleep in our super awesome hotel room.  We definitely recommend Nobu in Caesar’s.



Leave a comment